Do you have Arthritis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you have Arthritis?

I was diagnosed with it yesterday and I wasnt ready for this. I went to the doctor because my left knee makes such a crunching noise when I come down the stairs that it can be heard by anyone who is already downstairs. Doctor says to keep taking off the weight and keep it off, stop the high-impact exercises and the leg presses at the gym (I was really loving these!). Ice my knee twice a day and take 2 Aleve twice a day to help with the inflammation. I know I'm a nurse, but I am really being a big baby over this. I didnt want to have arthritis! Wahhhhhhhhh

I've been tested several times for RA with negative results but tests come back positive for polyarthritis and really not sure what that means but I think it could be that I could or could not have RA. Time will tell

Comment

You have the right to be upset . Try to follow docs advice.
      He is correct about the weight thing. One pound of weight equals 3 pounds of pressure on a joint.So if you are 20 pounds over weight your knee joint is grinding 60 pounds of pressure.Thats like tieing a 60 pound sack of sand to your knee and waliking around all day with it.OUCH!

So yes you will feel a great amount of relief if you lose weight.

I take Advil ,alieve did not work at all for me.

Let up on the weight trainning till you get weigh under control and inflamtion goes down.
      Try riding a stationary bike or using an Elliptical machine once you feel better.
      hang in there things will get better
      Last edited by Honey Bunny; 06-09-2006, 10:29 AM.

Comment