What about my hummingbird?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What about my hummingbird?

OK, I've never had a hummingbird feeder, but in the spring I found one marked down at WM, so I thought WTH. After waiting a couple of months I had a lone visitor, and he shows up many times a day, so I'm worried about him if I take the thing away! My friend Bonnie assures me he'll find another source, and I'm sure Nature takes care of this sort of thing, but I hate to abandon him. I know my roomie won't be able to keep it up (she has MS and a 3 1/2 yr old) - what to do?? I guess I could come by (it's on the way home from work to my new place) like every couple of weeks to change it.....
    I have kleptomania, but when it gets bad, I take something for it.

Re: What about my hummingbird?

Actually it should be leaving soon. They migrate. Regardless, there should still be plenty of flowers down your way for it to feed from.

Comment

I'm no expert, but I believe they migrate to Central America. Every year during late summer, we have a lot more visitors to our feeders than normal. Then, they're gone. I live in Mississippi, so I assume they're just passing through on their journey. I'm sure your little hummer will be fine, it may be just passing through, too. Fascinating little creatures.

Comment

I agree, they migrate. I have feeders and they are here during the summer month and then they disappear to come in the spring , sometime.

Comment

Aww, thanks y'all! I'll leave it here (and come back for it later), but I'll miss the little guy! It's the kind of feeder with a perch, and he has really made himself at home.
          Last edited by CrabbyMcClaw; 10-01-2008, 08:37 PM.

Comment

I read somewhere that you should put the hummingbird feeders up when it starts cooling down so they will migrate...
            Otherwise they will stay with the feeder and could freeze to death.
            I love hummingbirds too. We have several little friends!