Ancini di Pepe

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ancini di Pepe

I'm looking for this pasta salad that I get at Jason's Deli, and I believe it is made with Ancini di Pepe or possibly Orzo (not sure if they are the same thing). I am also new to CopyKat, so any help, advice, input is helpful!!! Thanks to all!

Re: Ancini di Pepe

Ancini di pepe and orzo are both pastas, just different shapes. Orzo looks like fat rice, ancini di pepe looks more like couscous grains when uncooked. I've used orzo a lot, haven't tried ancini yet. You can pretty much use orzo like any other pasta and it does make a great cold pasta salad. I can't see why you couldn't use ancini the same way. I hope this helps a little bit. I haven't tried these recipes but I did copy them because they looked really good.

Orzo Salad with Chickpeas and Artichoke Hearts

Total Time: 30 Minutes 2 servings

Quintessential Greek flavors—feta, lemon and dill—combine perfectly in this hearty salad..
    Make Ahead Tip: Prepare the salad—without the tomatoes and spinach—cover and refrigerate for up to 1 day. Add the tomatoes just before serving and serve over the spinach.

INGREDIENTS
    1/2 cup orzo or other tiny pasta
    1 1/2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
    1 clove garlic, crushed and peeled
    1/8 teaspoon salt
    1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
    1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
    1 14-ounce can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
    1 7-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
    1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
    2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
    1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
    1 large tomato, chopped
    2 cups baby spinach leaves

DIRECTIONS
    Bring a small saucepan of water to a boil. Cook orzo until just tender, about 9 minutes, or according to package directions. Drain and rinse under cold water until cool. Press to remove excess water. Transfer to a medium bowl and toss with oil.